The Charles County Sheriff’s Office Automated Speed Enforcement Unit will be adding two new school zones to the automated speed enforcement program. The new locations are T.C. Martin Elementary School, 6315 Oliver Shop Road in Bryantown, and St. Charles High School, 5305 Piney Church Road in Waldorf. The CCSO currently has a total of four mobile cameras that are moved every two weeks to approved school zones including:

  • Thomas Stone High School, 3785 Leonardtown Road, Waldorf
  • Westlake High School, 3300 Middletown Road, Waldorf
  • Maurice J. McDonough High School, 7165 Marshall Corner Road, Pomfret
  • General Smallwood Middle School, 4990 Indian Head Highway, Indian Head
  • William E. Wade Elementary School, 2300 Smallwood Drive West, Waldorf
  • Berry Elementary School, 10155 Berry Road, Waldorf
  • James Craik Elementary School, 7725 Marshall Corner Road, Pomfret
  • Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer Elementary School, 2820 Jenifer School Lane, Waldorf
  • Malcolm Elementary School, 14760 Poplar Hill Road, Waldorf
  • Grace Christian Academy, 13000 Zekiah Drive, Waldorf

As a courtesy, the locations of the cameras are posted weekly on the sheriff’s office Facebook page. Also:

  • Cameras are activated Monday through Friday, all year long, from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. with the exception of Wade Elementary School which operates from 7 a.m. until 6 p.m.
  • Citations are issued to the registered owner of the vehicle and only if the speed was 12 mph or more over the posted speed limit.
  • A school zone speed camera violation is a $40 fine with no points.

Charles County Crime Solvers offers rewards of up to $1,000 for information that leads to the arrest or indictment of a person responsible for a crime in Charles County. Anyone with information about an unsolved crime or the location of a fugitive may contact Charles County Crime Solvers by calling 1-866-411-TIPS, texting CHARLES + the tip to CRIMES (274637) or submitting tips online at All individuals who provide tips through Crime Solvers will remain anonymous. Learn more at the CCSO’s website.

The Charles County Sheriff’s Office is a full-service law enforcement agency comprised of more than 600 police, corrections and civilian personnel responsible for protecting more than 150,000 residents. The CCSO was accredited by the Commission on the Accreditation of Law Enforcement Agencies (CALEA) in 2001 and has been designated as a CALEA Gold Standard of Excellence agency since 2011. Established in 1658, the CCSO is one of the oldest law enforcement agencies in the United States. For more information, visit