School Resource Unit

Youth Outreach

The Charles County Sheriff’s Office and Charles County Public Schools work together to keep schools safe for students and to reinforce the importance of making good decisions.

The CCSO School Resource Unit assigns one officer to every high school and middle school in Charles County as part of an agreement with Charles County Public Schools (CCPS). The officers work closely with the administrative staff and teachers at their respective schools to enhance school safety and address security matters. The officers also develop strong rapports with students and present programs in class that encourage good decision making, build self-esteem, and teach students to be positive role models in the community. In the event of a disturbance at the school, the officers are able to quickly intervene. In addition to fulfilling their responsibilities at their respective high school or middle school, School Resource Unit officers also work with elementary schools to address security matters and present student programs.

The programs School Resource Unit officers present to CCPS students include Drug Abuse Resistance Education (DARE) and Truth and Consequences. They help coordinate We Care, a program that has reduced teen traffic fatalities by using innovative methods to encourage young motorists to drive safely. Each summer, the officers also host a three-on-three basketball tournament, Badges for Baseball, a Just Say No camp and the Summer Youth Program. The School Resource Unit also operates a Student Crime Solvers program, which offers students an opportunity to receive reward money when the students anonymously submit information about crimes in schools. The program is offered in conjunction with Charles County Crime Solvers.

School Resource Unit officers build trust with their students, one of the most important components of the program. Students are able to confide in an officer when problems exist at home or at school, including bulleying. Students can also provide the officer with information about a crime, regardless of whether the crime occurred at the school.

School Resource Unit Assignments

Charles County – North

  • Supervisor: Sgt. Robert Vaughn
  • 301-392-7595

PFC James Thompson
Benjamin Stoddert Middle School
Eva Turner Elementary School
Dr. Gustavus Brown Elementary School
Mary B. Neale Elementary School

PFC Paul Anderson
Westlake High School
William B. Wade Elementary School
C. Paul Barnhart Elementary School

Cpl. Chris Cusmano
North Point High School

PFC John Foster
John Hanson Middle School
Malcolm Elementary School
J.P. Ryon Elementary School

PFC Michael DePaulo
Mattawoman Middle School
Berry Elementary School
Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer Elementary School

PFC Jared Cooney
Thomas Stone High School
Dr. Samuel A. Mudd Elementary School
Arthur Middleton Elementary School

PFC Ray Anderson
Theodore G. Davis Middle School
William A. Diggs Elementary School

Officer Patrick Mann
St. Charles High School

Charles County – South

  • Supervisor: Sgt. Carl Rye
  • 301-392-7568

Cpl. Donald Kabala
Piccowaxen Middle School
Dr. Thomas L. Higdon Elementary School

PFC Kyle Evans
Henry E. Lackey High School
Gale-Bailey Elementary School
Mt. Hope/Nanjemoy Elementary School

PFC Sheilagh Cook
Milton M. Somers Middle School
Walter J. Mitchell Elementary School
T.C. Martin Elementary School

Cpl. Mark Kaylor
La Plata High School
Mary H. Matula Elementary School
F.B. Gwynn Educational Center

Cpl. Clarence Black
Maurice J. McDonough High School
Dr. James Craik Elementary School
Robert D. Stethem Educational Center

PFC Amy Upshaw
Matthew Henson Middle School
J.C. Parks Elementary School

PFC Kurt Burger
General Smallwood Middle School
Indian Head Elementary School